About Us

About Us

Southeastern Idaho Public Health provides health services in eight counties in Southeastern Idaho, spanning a population base of approximately 176,000 people. Southeastern Idaho Public Health is supervised by an eight-member board appointed by the county commissioners of our eight counties, which include: Bannock, Bear Lake, Bingham, Butte, Caribou, Franklin, Oneida, and Power. Board members serve staggered five-year terms. The board appoints a Director to administer and manage daily operations.

The organization has five departments:
  • Clinical Services - Provides child health services, school health, family planning, immunizations, tuberculosis control services, sexually transmitted diseases, breast and cervical cancer screening, prenatal education and HIV case management services.
  • Community Health - Provides health education and promotion to the public related to a wide variety of topics, including but not limited to: adolescent pregnancy prevention, arthritis, comprehensive cancer control, diabetes / heart disease / stroke, epidemiology (disease investigation and prevention), fit and fall proof, diabetes, oral health, parents as teachers, physical activity and nutrition, substance abuse prevention, suicide prevention, tobacco cessation and prevention.
  • Environmental Health - Provides services related to drinking water protection, food inspections, septic system inspections, solid waste sites, public swimming pools, and child care facility inspections. This department also investigates disease occurrences and public health nuisances.
  • WIC - Provides health assessments, nutrition education, and lactation counseling services to Women, Infants, and Children's program participants.
  • Administration - Provides support services to other departments, including human resources, quality improvement, financial services, I.T. services, building care and maintenance.

A central office is located in Pocatello and seven satellite offices are located in American Falls, Arco, Blackfoot, Malad, Montpelier, Preston, and Soda Springs.


Funding comes from county contributions; sub-grants; and fees and donations. County contributions are set through an annual public hearing with representatives from each county commission. Sub-grants are received from the Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, cities, and other governmental agencies. Fees and donations are collected from clients who receive public health services, death certificates, and environmental health licenses and inspections.